Froper fee for recorder
Recorder of Deeds “"mm for marriege

where reorder conseien-
tiously reteins doubt as %o
age he may take arfidavit
as to age at a charge of

$ .28 additionsl,

o

August 4, 1934

Honorabde Forrest Smith,
State Auditor,
Jefferson City, Missouri.

Dear 3ir:

We have your letter of May 17, 1934 in which is contained a
request for an opinion as follows:

"¥ill you please advise us what, in your opinioen,
is the proper fee for a recorder of deeds to charge
for the issuance of a marriage license. In making
county audits we find that seme recorders charge .00
under Section 2979, while others charge $1.50 or $2.00,

ustifying the additional charge over $1.00 by Seetion

804 which provides 'for every certifigate and seal - 504."
The recorder in these latter cases, requires an affidavit
from the applicant as to his age where the matter is in
doubt.

*In this connection we particularly ecall your at-
tention to Section 2980 wherein it is provided that
should a recorder neglect or refuse to issue a license
on payment or tender of the fee of $1.00, he shall be
deemed guilty of a misdemeaner.”

Section 29078 Revised Statutes of Missouri 1929 provides that
recordcrs shall i ssue marriage licenses to persons legally entitled
thereto.

Section 2979 Revised Statutes of Missouri 1929 provides as
follows:

*Sec. 2979. Licemses to be recorded. The recorder
shall record all marriage licenses issued in a well-
bound book kept for that purpose, wi th the return
thereon, for which he shall receive a fee of one

dollar, to be paid for by the person obtaining the same.”

Section 2980 Revised Statutes of Missouri 1929 provides that
if any recorder willfully refuse or neglect to record or issue to
a person 1l y entitled thereto a license, on payment of the
fdé provided, he shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor amnd fimed
not less than five dollars nor more thean ome hundred dollars.

Section 2983 Revised Statutes of Missourl 1929 provides among
other things that no recorder shall issue a licemnse to any female
under the age of eighteen or any male under the age of twenty-one
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years without « written consent frem parent or guardian,

Section 2984 fevised Statutes of Wirmuri, 1589, provides anong
other things that amny resorder issuing a license con to said
mummnummw-ummr not

rmmmcnnnt t in addition he shall de mubdjeet
::t:: asction the pareat or guardian with recovery limi

The atove msotions are all ®atained in Chapter 19 Revised
Statutes of Missocuri, 1989, said chapter being entitled “Narriage
and Marriege {- o

On the feace of the satter wo have a rather anomalous situation
in that the resord:r is required ¢ &
::'ubuntb than, is pemalized if through some ciroumstance

My
ffidavit as %0 i et it o ',.u..".:.t‘ tter of
a ng n re aP 8 as r
.~ jeulty. For such euthority

"See. 11862, Recorder mayadninister ocaths, when.- NHereafter

whenever ummhcuuamuuu&u

mm.}aomwmu.r

state, it heconesneosssary for any person to be ssora te

;my statement, -m.utuw¢-u kind, ke

recorder of deeds shall be au to adninister an

oath to any person in matters relating to the &uties of

his offiee, wWith like effect erks ] t

m use his seal of offTiee to the %, a8 clerks
of record G0, He @all receive s8RT OOM=

pensation allowed by law for like serviee as alerks of

courts are now allowed.”

not sean %o

liecnse the recopder may require an affidavit or affidavits., %
merely refer to canss where the aatter ofange i in doudt and
the neeessity for the recorder to proteet himself arises.
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mqummn-unauum“mmu
entitled to charge for sach affidavit. Seetion 11562 adove quoted
fixes the compensation as that allowed to clerks of sourts resord
for & like service. )

Seotion 117681, %evised HZtatutes of iissouri, 1920, relating teo
m-rumn.—.mmmunnn 8:

"For oath and certiricate to an affidavit.... § .28."

Seetion 117085, fevised Statutes of Missouri, 1920, relating to
tmotdcnordm"omm.t_upi“ prov ides
in part as follows:

*Tor oaths and eertificate %0 affidavit l..l. o828,

The fee then, to de dnrrcu the recorder for cach affidavit
is tventy-Cive cemts, aw 10 30 explicit on this that we feel
it Sakes precedence over the allowmnes of fifty osats for esrtificates
and seals erally in Seetion 11804 referred to in r letter,
Specifie es in the seotions sbow quoted will slways take
precedence over general sording as t0 & partienlar sitaatiosn.

In this connection, hw it is =l]l % note Seeotion 7500

Revissd Statutes of I;-.Iﬂ bo, ‘wnton :f' that ia n.itl-dé.l.o.
n mu [+ .'f eers

n:an of deed8, are umuuc m oaths

e o B e R derge,

In view of the abovs, therefore, we are of the opinion that the
r rtuﬁranmumao&rmtmuam
foense is #1.00., If a recordsr conselentiously needs an affifavit
rrunamtuom*mmuhu.ujilthnumcul.l
the charge bde 00,

Yery truly yours,

CHAR, M., MOWELL, JR,.
Assiatant Attorney
Cili-J r: LKL

Approved:




