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Dear Director Rice:

This letter is in response to your gquestion asking what
constitutes an "investigation" under Section 43.250, RSMo Supp
1984. Section 43.250 states:

Every law enforcement officer who
investigates a vehicle accident resulting in
injury to or death of a person, or total
property damage to an apparent extent of
five hundred dollars or more to one person,
or who otherwise prepares a written report
as a result of an investigation either at
the time of and at the scene of the accident
or thereafter by interviewing the partici-
pants or witnesses, shall forward a written
report of such accident to the superin-
tendent of the Missouri state highway patrol
within ten days after his investigation of
the accident, except that upon the approval
of the superintendent of the Missouri state
highway patrol the report may be forwarded
at a time and/or in a form other than as
required in this section.

You also ask if the following procedure is in compliance with
that statute:

If the accident involves a fatality or
injury or property damage requiring the
vehicle to be towed, then a report is filled
out and forwarded to the Missouri State
Highway Patrol. If a property damage



Richard Rice, Director

accident does not require a tow, regardless
of the apparent $500 damage to the vehicles,
no report is filled out, and the responding
officer provides the persons involved an
Exchange of Information Form.

A review of Missouri case law does not disclose any case in
which a court has defined the term "investigation". Under the
rules of statutory interpretation, however, the legislature is
presumed to have intended every word to have its plain and
common meaning. Kolocotronis v. Ritterbusch, 667 S.W.2d 430,
434 (Mo. App., W.D. 1984); Sermchief v. Gonzales, 660 S.W.2d

683, 688 (Mo. banc 1983). Webster's New World Dictionary (2nd
ed.) defines "investigate" as "to search into so as to learn the
facts; inquire into systematically...." In State v. Tavylor,

673 P.2d 1140 (Kan. 1983), the Kansas Supreme Court noted that
in performing an investigation "police officers must obtain
necessary information from individuals...." Id. at 1144. An
appellate court in California interpreted the term investigation
in a California statute to mean "a patient inquiry into, and
examination of all reasonably available facts...." People v.
One 1941 Chevrolet Coupe, 248 P.24 786, 789 (Cal. App., (1952).

It seems clear, therefore, that an "investigation" is not
determined by the results of an inquiry, but rather by the fact
that an inquiry was made. It is the gathering of information by
an office to determine whether injury occurred or the extent of
property damage that makes an investigation and not what the
investigation reveals. In other words, when a law enforcement
officer takes action to gather information about an accident,
either through arriving at the accident scene or talking to
witnesses or the participants, that officer is investigating
that accident regardless of the extent of injury or damage
disclosed.

Section 43.250, however, does not require a report be
submitted for all investigations. Instead the Missouri legis-
lature has established those accidents involving injury or $500
in property damage as the reporting criteria. The statutory
criteria does not use a "tow-away" threshold as a basis for when
an accident report must be filed. The express mention of one
thing in a statute implies the exclusion of all others,

Harrison v. MFA Mutual Insurance Companv, 607 S.W.2d 137, 146
(Mo. banc 1980), and it is rational to assume that the
legislature did not intend to permit a "tow-away" criteria.

For this reason the answer to your second inquiry is that
the "tow-away" criteria set out above does not complv with
Section 43.250. The statute is very specific in its requirement
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when an accident report must be filed. A report shall be

filed in (1) cases involving injury, death or "total property
damage to an apparent extent of five hundred dollars or more to
one person," or (2) when an officer "otherwise prepares a
written report as a result of an investigation." An officer may
choose to prepare a report for accidents that do not involve
injury or $500 in property damage, but no discretion is
permitted when injury, death or $500 in property damage to one
person is apparent. Where a statute limits the doing of a
particular thing in a prescribed manner, it necessarily includes
in the power granted the negative that it cannot be otherwise
done. State v. County of Camden, 394 S.w.2d4 71, 77 (Mo. App.,
8p: D« 1865}

We conclude that a law enforcement officer "investigates"”
an accident under Section 43.250, RSMo, when he or she makes an
inguiry into the facts relevant to an accident, regardless of
what that inguiry discloses. If upon investigation, the officer
determines that death, injury or apparent property damage of
$500 or more to one person has occurred, Section 43.250, RSMo.
requires that the officer submit an accident report to the
Missouri State Highway Patrol regardless of whether any vehicle
is or is not towed from the accident scene.

Very truly yours,

WILLIAM L. WEBSTER
Attorney General



