OPINION NO,., 348
Angwered by letter-Nowotny

Honorable Thomas C. Gilstrap FILE D
Collector of Revenue

State of Missouri

Jefferson Building 3
Jefferson City, Missouri 65102

Dear Mr, Gilstrap:

This is in answer to your request for an opinion which request
reads as follows:

"We received a letter from Mr. Bverett Griffin,

Falr Play, Missouri, requesting a refund of his

Itinerant Vendor's Speclal Deposit in the amount
of $500,00,

"Mr, Griffin was first issued an Itinerant Ven-
dor's License on July 10th, 1956 which was in
the amount of $25.00 and was for the period of
one year. At the same time we also received
his $500,00 cash bond which has been carried in
a custody account, and is returned to the vendor
sixty days after the license has been cancelled,
Mr., Griffin renewed his license each year, the
last being on July 10th, 1959. However, we have
not heard from him since that time until last
month., Mr. A. S. Arenson, former Collector of
Revenue, tried on numerous occasions to locate
Mr, Griffin, but without success.,

"We wrote Mr, Griffin under date of March 30th
requesting him to send us his Itinerant Vendor's
License in letter form, dated July 10th, 1956,

and also his Receipts for the cash bond and

$25.00 license fee which must be sent to us be-
fore any action can be taken in regard to the
refund, However, Mr, Griffin has advised me that
he 1s unable to locate this license or his Recelpts.

"We will be guided by your opinion in this matter."
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An itinerant vendor in Missourli must obtain a state license as
provided for by Section 150,390, RSMo 1959. This section reads in
part as follows:

"2, BEvery itinerant vendor desiring to do busi-
ness in this state shall deposit with the state
collector of revenue the sum of five hundred
dollars as a speclal deposit, and thereafter,
upon application in proper form, and the payment
of a further sum of twenty-five dollars, as a
state license fee, such state collector of rev-
enue shall issue to him an itinerant vendor's
license, authorizing him to do business in this
state, in conformity with the provisions of sec-
tions 150,380 to 150,460, for one year from the
date thereof,"

The purpose of the deposit 1s to satisfy claims of creditors of
the licensee and to pay any fines and penalties incurred by the
licensee., Section 150,440, RSMo 1959 reads as follows:

"Bach deposit so made with the state collector

of revenue, shall be subject to attachment and
execution on behalf of creditors, whose claims
arise in connection with business done in this
state, and to the payment of fines and penal~-

ties incurred by the licensee, through violation
of sections 150,380 to 150,460, Claims under
civlil process shall be enforced against the state
collector of revenue as garnishee, or trustee by
action in the usual form, and claims for satisfa-
tion of fines and penalties shall be enforced by
the prosecuting attorney serving notice of pendency
of action and judgment when obtained upon the state
collector of revenue., Claims upon each deposit
shall be satlsfied after judgment, in the order in
which notice of the claim is received by the state
collector of revenue, until such claims are satis-
fied, or the deposit exhausted; but notices filed
after the expiration of such sixty days' limit shall
not be valid, A deposit shall not be paid by the
state collector of revenue to licensees as long as
there are outstanding claims or notices of claims
agailnst 1t, unless there is unreasonable delay in
enforcing them,"

Section 150.430, RSMo 1959, provides for expiration and surrender
of licenses and return of the deposit and reads in part as follows:

"2, All state licenses shall expire by limitation
one year from the date thereof, and may be surren-
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dered at any time prior thereto for cancellae~

tion., Upon the iration and return, or sure

render of a state nee, the state collector

of revenue shall cancel it, indorse the date

g{ delivery and cancellation thereon, and place
on file.

"3, He shall hold the special it of such

licensee mentioned in sections «380 to

150,460, for the further period of sixty days,

and after satis all claims made under it

under section » shall retwrn such de-
ts, or 1m thureor, as remains 1n his
s, to licensee depositing same,"

The license issued by the state, then, automatically expires one
year from date of issue, However, a license may be cancelled before
expiration by surrender of the license, If the license has automat-
ically expired hlppen-d here, then the license is cancelled upon
Totrn of e Lissuss

In either case the special deposit is returned after a sixty
day period starting from the date of cancellation by state Col-
lector of Revenue,

Cancellation is effected on return of the license to the Collector
of Revenue, However, here the license has been lost or destroyed make
ing it sically impossible to return the license, It is our opinion
that the licensee is nevertheless entitled to the return of his special
deposit.

The Collector of Revenue must insure that the icular person
cmning the t is entitled to the deposit, Collector should
t the claimant 1s the same person to whom the license
mxmmmmmmmumnmouu-
ant 1s physically unable to return the license because it has been lost,
stolen or destroyed,

When the Collector of Revenue is adequately assured that the claime-
ant is entitled to the speclal deposit the license 1s then considered
cancelled and after sixty days the special deposit should be returned,

Very truly yours,

NORMAN H., ANDERSON
Attorney General



