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rule allowing depreciation in amount 
greater than original cost price of 
item. 

OPINION NO. 191 

October 5, 1964 

Honorable M. E. Morris 
Director of Revenue 
State of ~ssouri 
Jefferson City, Missouri 

Dear Mr. Morris: 
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This is in answer to your opinion request dated May 6, 
1964. Your request reads as follows: 

"On November 30, 1962/. Missouri Income 
Tax Regulation M.R. 140 was rescinded 
and a new regulation adopted. A photo­
graph of the regulation changes is 
enclosed, with a copy of the law and 
regulations in effect in 1962. 

"The 1964 u. s. Revenue Actl"Section 
203 ~ending Code Sections 40 and 1245 
provides that on the first day of the 
taxpayer's first taxable year begin­
ning after December 31, 1963, the 
basis of depreciable property must be 
increased by the ~ount of the credit 
previously taken under the investment 
credit act of 1962. 

"Examples of depreciation schedUles 
are attached. Please note example 
#3 where $700 was allowed as additional 
depreciation in 1962 under revised 
regulation of November 30, 1962. Follow­
ing the s~e procedure as federal, this 
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$700 wil l be added to the depr eciation 
schedule , and wi ll over the life of the 
asset be all owed again as depreciation. 
This will result in an a l lowance of 
$700 over the cos t of the asset . 

"Please review Section 143 . 160, 143.190, 
and 143 . 200 of the Missouri I ncome .Tax 
Law, and advise whether or not the state 
can accept an adjustment of the depr ecia­
tion base f or s tate income tax pu~oses 
on the same basis as the federal adjust­
ment , or must the state collect tax on 
the additional allowance taken in prior 
years?" 

Section 143 . 200, RSMo 1959, empow~rs the Director of 
Revenue to pr escribe reasonable rules and regulations for 
the administration of the income tax laws and also states 
such rules and regul ations shal l follow as nearly as 
practicabl e the rul es and r egul ations prescribed by the 
United States Government on income tax and collections . 
However, the Director of Revenue is not authorized to 
promul gate rules and regulations contrary to a state statute . 

The question you wish answered arises because the 
Federal Income Tax Law p rovides for a seven percent invest­
ment credit for certain new investments . When the Federal 
statute was first passed, it was provided that the invest­
ment credit be deducted from the cost price to arrive at 
the base upon which depreciation was calculated . When 
this was done, the taxpayers requested the Missouri Depart ­
ment of Revenue to take some action which would let the tax­
payers use the same depreciation figures in both the Federal 
and State returns . The Missouri department did this by 
giving an additional first year of depreciation allowance 
equal to the investment credit under the Federal law. How­
ever , the Federal statute has now been amended so as to 
provide that the base upon which depreciation is .calculated 
instead of being the cost price less the investment credit 
will be the cost price . The taxpayers have now requested 
the Missouri department to amend its regulation so that the 
same figures for depreciation can be used in the State and 
Federal returns . It can be seen from this that if the 
Missouri regulations were so amended, there would be a total 
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depreciation greater than the actual cost of the item, 
that is, greater by an amount equal. to the first year 
additional depreciation that was allowed to make the 
depreciation figures af the State and Federal returns 
the same. 

Section 143.160, RSMo, provides for the deductions 
that may be taken by taxpayers. Subsection (2) provides 
inpart as follows& 

"(e.) Losses actually sustained during 
the year incurr ed in a taxpayer ' s 
business or t rade, including reasonable 
allowance for exhaustion, depreciation ~ 
obsolescence, wear and tear of ~roperty 
in the business or trade, 4 4 * 

(Emphasis supplied.) 

Depreciation, to be "reasonable", cannot under such 
statute exceed the original cos t of an item. If, there- · 
fore, a rule and regulation which provided for an adjust­
ment of the depreciation base for State income tax pur­
poses authorized the taxpayer to deduct depreciation in 
an amount greater than the original cost price of the 
item depreciated, such rule and regulation would be 
i.nva.li~ . 

CONCLUSION 

It is the opinion of this office that the Director 
of Revenue cannot promulgate a rule and regulation 
authorizing a taxpayer to take as a dedu~tion on his 
inoome tax return depreciation in an amount greater than 
the original cost price of an item. 

The foregoing opinion, which I hereby approve, was 
prepared by my Assistant, c. B. Burns, Jr. 

Yours very truly, 

~/(~ 
THOMAS F. EAGIHrCY( . . 
Attorney General 


