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Board of Cos~etology 
btate of Missouri 
J efferson Building 
J eff erson City, Missouri 

Att ention: t·liss Jakali ne J.>icBrayer , Secretary. 

Gentlemen: 

This will acknowledge receipt of yo~ request for an opinion, 
which reads : 

"Will you please render an opinion to the .3~ate 
Board of Cosmetology as to what r.~y be done when 
a shop owner refuses to pay the annual registra­
tion fee provided f or under Section 329 . 041 , 
t1oJS Cu..1. Supp . 19 ~5 . 

Further.o.ore, does said Board have author! ty to revoke or 
suspend an individual operator ' s lic ense who is continuing to 
practice cosn etology in such unlicensed shop . " 

Section 329 . 041 , l-1odS Cu.'"!l . Supp . 1955 , roads : 

"i>#vory shop or establish;ll.ent in which the 
occupation of hairdressers, cos~etologists or 
r.Aniourists i s practiced shall be require~ to 
obtain a certi f icate of registration f ro.:l the 
state board of cos1110tology . The registration 
year shall be fro.4 July first to Juno thirti eth 
of each year . Lvery shop or establis~aent so 
required to register shall pay t o the Gtate 
an annual fee of five ~ollars f or tho first 
three licensed operators i n such shop or 
establishment and an additional foe of one 
dollar for each additional licensed operator 
or apprentice . Such foe shall be due and 
payable on June thi rtieth of each year and 
!'or each thirty days therea.ftor that such fee 
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remains unpaid there shall be added a penalty 
of five dollars. The certificate of registra­
tion shall be kept posted in plain view within 
the shop or establishment . " 

Ever since the foregoing statute was enacted in 1951, shops in 
which cosmetology is practiced have been required to obtain a certifi ­
cate of registration and to thereafter renew same annually. The same 
statute also fixes a penalty for failure to obtain such certificate 
of registration which ahall become due and payable on June 30th of 
each year and for each 30 days thereafter that the registration fee 
remains unpaid there shall be added a penalty of $5.00. 

In view of the foregoing statute there can be no question that 
any such shops carrying on the practice of cosmetology are required 
to obtain a certificate of registration and re~ew same annually . 

In case such shops positively refuse to apply for a certif icate 
of registration or renew such registration annually as provided by 
law, 1~ur recourse is to recover the penalty provided under Section 
329.041, supra, in a civil action at law. 

There is another statute that makes said shop owner subject to 
prosecution when refusing to obtain a certificate of registration, or 
renewal of said registration, as the case may be, and that is 
Section 329.250, MoRS Cum. Supp. 1955, which statute provided, among 
other things, that anyone maintaining such a shop without a certifi­
cate as required by law, or who violates any provision of said 
chapter upon conviction shall be adjudged guilty of a misdemeanor . 
Section 329 . 250, reads: 

"Anyone who shall practice any of the occupations, 
maintain a shop or establishment or school in which 
anyone is employed who does not have a certificate 
as required by this chapter, or who shall act in any 
capacity , wherein a certificate is required , without 
a certificate, or who shall violate any provision 
of this chapter , shall, upon conviction, be adjudged 
guilty of a misdemeanor . Each and every day of such 
violation shall constitute and be a separate offense.n 

The imposition of a penalty amounting to $5.00 for every thirty 
days the certificate of registration remains unpaid under Section 
329.041, supra , is not tantamount to a crime but as hereinabove stated 
can only be recovered by civil action at law. However, to maintain 
a shop artd viol ate any of the provisions of Chapter 329, supra, upon 
conviction, does constitute a crime and makes the offender guilty of 
a misdemeanor. 

We see no reason why any such shop owner, employing licensed 
operators under Chapter 329, supra, without said anop owner having 
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obtained a certificate of registration or r enewal thereof, cannot 
be both sued f or the penalty and prosecuted for having violated the 
provisions of said chapter as hereinabove provided. 

In Kenney vs . Comndssioner of Internal Revenue , 111 Fed. 2d 374, 
376, it was held that the imposition of civil fraud penalties being 
a civil matter , cannot place a defendant in double jeopardy. 

In Mauch vs . Commissioner of Internal Revenue, the court held that 
an acquittal by a jury on an indictment for income tax fraud doe s not 
prevent one subsequently being sued f or deficiency and f raud penalties 
under the doctrine of double j eopardy. 

In Helvering v. Itltchell, 303 U.s . 391, l . c. 397 , 398 , Hr . 
Justice Bran~eis delive~ed the opinion of the court and said, in part : 

"The difference in degree of the burden of proof in 
criminal and civil cases precludes application of the 
doctrine of res tudicata. The acquittal was ' mer ely 
• • . an a d judrea ion that the proof was not sufficient 
to overcome all reasonable doubt of the guilt of the 
accused .• Lewis v. Frick , 233 U.S . 291, 302 . It ..did 
not deter~ne that Matchell had not wilfully attempted 
to evade tho tax. That acquittal on a criminalCharge 
is not a bar to a civil action by the Goverrunent, 
remedial in its nature, arising out of the same f acts 
on which the criminal proceeding was based has long 
been settled. Stone vs. United States , 167 U.S . 
178 , 188; MurphY vs. United States , ~72 U. S . 630 , 
631, 632 . Compare cnantangco vs . Abaroa, 218 u.s . 
476, 481 , 482. Where th~jectlve of the subsequent 
action likewise is punishment, tho acquittal is a 
bar, because to entertain the second proceeding for 
punishment would subject the defendant to double 
jeopardy; and double jeopardy is precluded by the 
Fifth Amendment whether the verdict was an acquittal 
or a conviction. Murphy v. United States, 272 u.s . 
630, 632 . 11 

As to your last question, can the Board suspena or revoke the 
certificate of the individual operator in any such unlicensed shop 
s imply because the shop owner refuses to obtain or r enew a certificate 
of registration, Section 329 .140 , MoRS Cum. Supp. 1955, specif ically 
sets out the grounds for said Board re~sing a certificate to practice 
any of the occupations provided for in said chapter. Subsection 2 
thereunder further provides said Board shall have the power to revoKe 
or suspend certificates for anyone of the f oregoing grounds . None of 
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the grounds mentioned therein relate to revocation or suspension of an 
individual operator ' s certificate for the reason the shop in which 
they practice is not licensed. However , we are of the opinion that 
if the shop owner were a licensed operator under the Cosmetology 
Act, his failure to obtain a certificate of registation for the 
shop, as required under Section 329 .041, supra, would be sufficient 
grounds to revoke or suspend his operator ' s certificate under and 
by virtue of part one , subsection 7, and paragraph two of the fore ­
going mentioned statute . 

Unable to find any statutory inhibition against any such 
individual licensed operators carrying on such a profession in the 
absence of some similar statutory authority penalizing or prohibiting 
such practice in such shops , our answer to your latter question must 
be in the negative, with the one exception hereinabove mentioned, and 
that is where the owner of the shop might also be a licensed operator . 
In such case where the shop owner is operating without a certificate, 
his operator ' s certificate is subject to suspension or revocation. 

CONCLUSION 

Therefore, it is the opinion of this department that any shops 
referred to in Section 329 -041 , MoRS Cum. Supp. 1955, violating the 
provisions of said section may be sued in a civil action for recovery 
of penal ties provided therein, and in add! tion theJ.•eto said shop 
owner may be prosecuted for having violated the provisions of Chapter 
329, Section 329 . 250, MoRS Cum. Supp . 1955. 

It is further the opinion of this department that there is no 
statutory provision for revoking or suspending the certificate of 
any individual licensed operatoz• practicing cosmetology in such 
shops merely because they are working in said shop, which has not 
obtained a certificate of registration, or renewal , as the case may 
be , except when said shop owner is also a licensed operator, in such 
instance his operator ' s certificate is subject to suspension or re­
vocation by the Board. 

The foregoing opin1on, which I hereby approve, was prepared by 
my ass1stant, Mr. Aubrey R. Hammett. 

ARH ::nw 

Yours very truly , 

John M. Dalton 
Attorney General 


