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!OThR fEHICLES - Safety Rasponsibility Law applicable to‘jddgmenhs
for less than $1,000.00 for property damages.

December 7, 1949 |
FIL: j‘%q

Mr. John H., Allison

Supervisor, Motor Vehicle .Registration i
Department of Revenue

Jefferson City, Missouri

Attention: Mr. K. F. Davis
Financial Responsibility Division

Gentlemen:?

We have received your request for an opinion of this depart-
ment, which request is as follows:

"This department would like to have an
opinion from your office as to whether

& Plaintiff in a sult for damages, under
the Motor Safety Responsibility Laws of
1945, can sue and secure judgment for
damages in sums less than $1000."

You enclose copy of a petition filed in the magistrate court
of the City of ©St. Louls in which judgment for §$1,000.00, for
damage to the plaintiff's automoblile was sought against the defen-
dant by reason of the defendant's truck colliding with plaintiff's
automobile. A certificate of the clerk of the magistrate court
shows that judgment was rendered on June 1k, 1949, in favor of the
plaintiff and against the defendant in the sum of $,58.16, together
with costs amounting to $9.50, making a total of «66, The
olark further certified that such judgment remains unsatigfied.

In view of the enclosures we presume that the object of your
inquiry is to determine whether or not the provisions of the motor
vehicle safety responsibility law, Laws of Missouri, 1945, pagze
1207, should be invoked where & Judgment has been recovered for
property damages for a sum less than §1,000.00.

Section 1 of the Act in question defines a judgment as
follows:

"Any judgment which shall have become final
by expiration without appeal of the time
within which an appeal might have been
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perfected, or by final affirmation on appeal
rendered by a court of competent jurisdiction
of any state or of the United States, upon a
cause of action arising cut of the ownership,
maintenance or use of any motor vehicle, for
damages, including damages for care and loss
of services, because of bodily injury to or
death of any person, or for damages because
of injury to or destruction of property, ine
cluding the loss of use thereof, or upon a
cause of action on any agreement or settle~-
ment for such damages."

Section 4 (a) of the Act provides:

"The commissioner also shall suspend the
license and all registration certificates
or cards and registration plates issued to
any person upon recelving authenticated
report, as hereinafter provided, that such
person hags falled for a period of 30 days
to satisfy any final judgment in amounts
and upon a cause of action, as hereinarter
stated,"

Section 6 of the Act provides in part:

"Every Jjudgment herein referred to shall,
for the purposes of this act, be deemed
satlisfied:
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"3. When $1,000.00 has been credited upon
any Jjudgment or judgments rendered in ex-

cess of that amount for damage to property
of others as a result of any one accident."

There is no direct provision in the Act to the effect that
judgment for property damage in the amount of less than $1,000.00
gshould not be grounds for invoking the provislons of the Act.

The only provision of the Act from which such might be implied

is subdivision 3 of Section 6, quoted supra. We feel, however,
that no such meaning can be given this provision. In our opinion
this provision means that in the event that a judgment in excess

of $1,000.00 is recovered for property damage, payment of §1,000.00
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on such judgment ghall be deemed & sgatisfaction thereof for pure
poses of the Act. Nowhere is there any indication that the Act
is not intended to apply in case of a judgment for less than
$1,000.00.

We call your attention to the fact that the record certifled
by the magistrate court does not clearly show that the judgment
in this case had becoms final. The judgnent was rendered on June
1L, 1949, and under Section 130 of the magistrate court law, Laws
of Missouri, 1945, page 765, 800, notice of appeel must have been
filed wlthin ten days of the judgment. However, the certificate
of the magiatrate does not show on its face that no notice of
appeal was filed, and the certiflcate concerming the minute entries
does not purport to be a full and complete record of such entries.

CORCLUSION

Therefore, it is the opinlon of this Department that the pro-
visions of the Motor Vehicle Safety Responsibllity Act, Laws of
¥issouri, 1945, page 1207, must be invoked by the Director of
Motor thicls Regilstration upon recelipt of certificate showing
judgment for less than $1000.00 for property dameages, resulting
. from the ownershlp, malntenance or use of a motor vehicle, when
judgment has become [inal and has remained unsatisfied for thirty
d&y" °

Respectfully submitted,

ROBERT R, WELEORN
APPROVED: Assistant Attorney General

Attarney General 6552523
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