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MOTOR VEHICLES: A jury, judge, or prosecuting attorney

PROSECUTING ATTORNEYS: cannot assess or recommend a fine of less
than Five Dollars for careless driving
under Section 8383, R. S, Missouri 193%9.

- August 28, 1941

Honorable Michael W, O'Hern

Prosecuting Attorney F.l
Jackson County

Kansas Clty, Missourl

Dear Sir:

We are 1n receipt of your request for an opinion
from thls department under date of August 27, 1941, which
reads as follows:

"There has been a large number of
cases flled iIn the justice courts in
our county for traffic violations on
the hlghwey. One of the most trouble-
some one has to do wlth careless driv-
ing; that 1s, speeding, fallure to
stop at stop signs and driving at a
rate of speed that endangoers the prop-
erty of another and the 1ife and 1limb
of a person.

"The only section of the statutes
that I can find that covers cases of
this kind is Section 8383, Revised
Statutes of Mlssourl 1939, and as I
understand 1t the pehalty for vioclate-
ing this section of the statutes 1ia
provided for 1In Section 8404 Sub-
division (d). T would like to know
1f Section 8383 1s the section that
covers the c¢lass of cases above men-
tioned and 1f so, does Sectlon 8404
Sub-division (d) provide for the \
penalty.

"I have been asked another question
and that 1s, aessuming thet Section
8404 Sub-division (d) provides for
the penalty of not less than $5.00,
could I tell a Justice of the peace
or a court that while the minimum
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fine 1s §5,00 .-that he could make it less,
I have advised that I have no such au~
thority to change thls law, that 1s a
matter for the Leglslature.

"Would you be kind enough to give me an
opinion on the three gusations above set .
forth, namely, does the class of cases
that I have specified fall under Section
8383 and if so, 1s the penalty section
found under Sectlon 8404 Sub-division
(d) and lastly, would I be Justified in
asking the Justice to reduce the fine from
- $5.,00 to a leaser amount, You will note
that Sub-didlsion (d) of the penalty Sec=
tion 8404 has a rather pecullar ending,
in that, 1t states 'or by imprlsomment
in the county jell for a term not exceedw
ing two yeart.!

Section 8383, R. 3+ Missourl 1939, reads as follows:

"Lvery person operating a motor vehicle
on the highways of thls state shall drive
the same in a eareful and prudent manner,
and shall exercise the highest degree of
care, and at a rate of speed so as not

to endanger the property of another or
the life or limb of any person, provided
that a rate of speed 1n excess of twenty~
five miles an hour for a distance of one-
half mile shall be consldered as evidence,
presumptive but not econclusive, of driv-
ing at 8 rate of speed which 1s not care-
ful and prudent, but the burden of proof
shall continue to be on the prosecution
to show by compecbent evidence that at

the time and place charged the operator
was driving at a rate of speed which
was not careful and prudent, consider-
ing the time of day, the amount of
vehicular and pedestrlan traffic, con-
dition of the highway and the location
with reference to interseding highways,
curves, rcsidences or schools: Provided,
however, that no person shall operate a
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solid tilre commercial motor wvehicle
having a rated live load capaclty of
two (2) tons and less at a rate of
speed exceedlng tweniy miles per hour,
or a 80lid tire comnercial motor vew
hiele having a rated live load capacity
of more than two (2) tons and not more
than five (5) tons at a rate of speed
exceeding fifteen miles per hour, or

s solld tire commercial motor vehicle
having & reted live load capaclty of
more than five (5} tons at a rate of
speed exceedling ten miles per hour;
and provided further, that no person
shall operste a motor vehicle eguipped
with iron or other metal tires at a
greater raté of speed than six miles
per hour."

The mabove section 13 gpplicable to the charge of
careless driving and 18 part of Article 1, Chapter 45,
R. 8. Missouri 1939, which article and ghapter pertain
exclusively to motor vehicles,

Sectlion 3404, paragraph (d) of Article 1, Chapter
45, R. S. Missourl 1939, reads as followss

"(d) Any porson who violates any of

the other provisions of this artlele
shall, upon convietion thereof, be
punished by & fine of not less than

five dollars ({5.00) or more than five
hundred deollars ($500.00) or by imprison-
ment in the county jalill for a term not
exceeding two year, or by both such

fine and imprisonment."

Under the above paragreph (d) the minimum fine on
& charge of careless driving l1s set out as Five Dollars
(¢5.00). It 1s a very extraordinary and special statute
w ich applles to the punishment under Article 1, Chapter
45, pertaining to motor vehicles. It is very noticeable
it sets out specifically "i % not less than flve dollars
($5.00) % % or by imprisonment in the county jail for a
term not exceeding two year, # # " Sectlion 8404, supra,
is s section that asets out the penalties for the punish-
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ment for violating the laws 1n regeard to motor vehlcles
as set out in Article 1, Chapter 45, Paragraph (a) of
sald section provides for the punlshment for the theft

of & motor vehicle or parta from e motor vehicle of the
value of Thirty Dollars ({30.00) or more. Paragraph (b)
provides s punishment for the theft of any motor vehicle,
tire or any part or equipment of & motor vehlcle under
the value of Thirty Dollars (!:30.00). Paragraph (c) pro=-
vides a punishment for the violation of peragraph (a),
Section 8396, peragraph {(a), Section 8398 or parsgraph
(f) @ (g) of Section 8401. All of thse penalties above
set out in peragraphs (a), (b) and (e¢) do not set out the
punishment of a person charged with careless driving.

The Leglslsture saw fit to enact parsgraph (d), supra,
which provided for the punishment of eny of the other
proviaions of Article 1, Chapter 45, R. S. Missourl 1939,
Paregraph (d) is a s ecial law for the punishment of any.
of the other provisions. exceshaparagraphs (a), (b) and (c)
of Section 8404, Article 1, pter 45, R. S, Mlssourl
1939, which epplles specifically to motor vehicles.,

Under the genseral criminal law, In reference to the
punishment of a misdemeanor, where the bpenalty 1s not fixed
by law, the Leglslature sew flt to enact Section 4853, R.
S, Mlssourl 1939, which rceads as follows:

"Whenever asny offense 1s declared by
statute to be. a misdemeanor, and no
punishment is prescribed by thet or

any other statute, the offender shall
be punished by imprisomment in a county
Jail not exceeding one year, or by a
fine not exceeding one thousend dol-
lars, or by both such fine and imprison-
ment .M

Under the above section no minimum fine, such as Five
Dollars, has becsn set out, and this section applies only generael-
1y to the punishment upon s conviction of a misdemeanor where no
punishment 18 prescribed for the commission of that misdemesnor
although an act declares a certain act as a misdemeanor. The
courts of this state have held continually that where there 1s
a special statute and a general statute regarding any subject,
the special statute controls. It was so held in State v. Harris,
87 S. W. (2d) 1026, 337 Mo, 1052, We find no section where any
court can aasess a punishment of any crime, including misdemeanors,
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that would be less than that preseribed by statute.

Section 4094, R. S, Missouri 1939, states that it is
mandatory that where a Jury assesses a punishment whether
of Imprisomment or fine below the limit prescribed by law ,
for the offense of which the defendant 1s convicted, the
court shall pronounce sentence and render Judgment asccord-
ing to the loweat limlt prescribed by law In such case.
This ssction was upheld in a very early opinion of the
Suprecme Court in the case of Ststé v, MceGuaip, 22 Mo, 318,
1, ¢, 320, where the court said:

"% % The defendant pleaded 'not
gullty,! was tried and found gullty
in manner and form as charged in the
third count of the Indictment, and
the jury assessed his punlshment to
a fine of $300.

"The defendant moved for a new trial,
‘because the verdiet was against law,
agalnst evidence, and ageinst the
weight of evidence; becduse the verdict
i3 against the instructfons of the
court, and is against the provisions of
the statute regulating the punishment
for the offence charged in the third
count of the indictment.?

"The court overruled this motion, and
sentenced the defendent to pay the
lowest fine allowed by law for the .
offence charged in the third count,
which is the sum of $500, The fine
assessed by the jury being lower than
the lowest amount allowed by the
statute for such an offense, vize,
$300; the eourt disregarded so much
of the verdict and put the fine to
the loweat sum which the statute al«
lows, The defendant prayed an appeal
to this court.

"The statute regulating practice and proceedings
in criminsal cases, art, 7, section 5, says:
'If the Jury assess a punishment, whether
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of imprisomment or fine, below.the

limlt prescribed by law for the of=-
fence of which the defendant is con-
victed, the court shall pronounce
gentence and render judgment accordling
to lowest llmlt prescribed by law i1n
such case.' Thils section of the statute
sanctions the act of the court, and
makes 1t the duty of the court to treat
the illegal fine as & blank, and fil1 it
with the punlshment at the lowest limit
preacribéd by the act for the offence.
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This ease has béen followed 1n State v. Julin, 235
Se We 818, paragraph 5, where the court saild: :

"3ixth. The next question earnestly
urged here by appellant is the action
of the court in raising the punishment
from one year to two years in the peni-
tentiery. The jury returned a verdict
finding appellant guilty and gasessing
hils punishment at one year in the peni-
tentlary. Section 4049, R. S. 1919,
provides ag follows:

"1If the Jury assess a punishment,
whether of imprisomment or fine, bolow
the 1limit prescribed by law for the of-
fenge of which the defendant is con~-
victed, the court shsll pronounce sen-
tence, and render Judgment according

to the lowest limit preseribed by law in
such cass,'!

"The constitutional rights of appellant
were not Invaded or lmposed upon by the
action of the court in following the
plain letter of the statute, Appellant
had been regularly charged with crime
by a grand Jjury, had buen arraigned,
was confronted by the witnesses against
him, was afforded every opportunity to
make hils defense, and enjoyed in the
trial of the ease such protection and
safeguards as were vouchsafed by the
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Consatitutlon, both state and federsl,
and this statute is but a sequence

of and supplementary to section 4048,
Re S. 1919, BSection 3698, R. S- 1919,

-1s as followss

"tWhenever any offender 1is declared by
law punishable, upon conviction, by ime
prisonment in the penitentiary for a
term not less than any speclfied num~
ber of yesars, and no limit to the duration
of auch lmprisonment 18 declared, the of-
fender may be sentenced to imprisonment
during his natural life, or for any num-
ber of years not leas than such as are
preaeribed; but no person shall In any
case be sentenced to imprisomment in

the penltentiary for any term less than
two years.' |

"Ppom the foregolng 1t 1is apparent that
it berame the dubty of the trial court

to change the punlshment fixed by the
Jury te that of the minmmum punishment
fixed by. statute, and iin doing so there
was no violation of tﬁe constitutlonal
rights of appellant. :The punilshment,
upon conviction, of a?number of offenses
under our law, 1s fixed by the court,
and not by the jJjurys e. g., section 3248,
Re S. 1919. At the common law the verw

dict of the jury was guilty or not gullty,

.and the court {ixed the punishment seccord-

The court of sppeals in the case of Ex Parte Snyder,
29 Mo. App. 266, l+ Co» 261, 1n commenting upon this mate

ter, said:

ing to the laws in forece, and the sections
ebove quoted are not therefore ln contra-
vention of the constltutional rights of
appellant and are c¢onatitutionasl. State.
v. Hamey, 168 Mo. 167, 67 S. W. 620, 57

L. Re A, 8463 State v. Mathewa, 202 Mo.
143, 100 S, W. 420."

"The trial court hsd no suthority in a
eriminal trisl to substitute 1ta opinion
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for that of the jJjury, either as to

the guilt or innocence of the accused,

or as to the measure of punlshment as-
gessed by the Jury, provided, such as-
seasment was wlthin the 1limits prescribed
by the stetute ecreating the offence. Had
the jury in thelr verdlct exceeded the
1imit of the law in the punishment awarded,
or asseased punishment less than the law
prescrlbes, the court could have proceeded
to Judgment as provlded i1n sections 1931,
1932, Revised Statutes. The court, how-
eyer, recelved the verdiot of the jury,
‘as 1t wes compelled to doj and then, sus
sponte, set 1t sslde, continued the cause,
and peremptorily discharged the jury,
with a pronuncismento of perpetual dls-
qualification as jurors in that court.
Such a proceeding is, or ought to be,
without precedent, and is certalnly
without warrant of law. % 3 % % 4% % "

Also, in an early case the Suprepe Court of this
8tate in 3tate v. Danlels, 32 Mo. 558, l. c. 560, sald:

"This case will have to be remanded

for error in the Judgment of the court
below. The penalty fixed by law for an
offence of this kind 1s imprisonment 1n
the penitentlary not less than ten years.
The jury assessed the punishment at ten
years, the minimum. The court, however,
In giving Judgment upon the finding of
the Jury, reduced the time to two years.
The statute which glves power to the
court, in cases of conviction, to reduce
the extent or duratlion of the punishment
assessed by a jury, 1f, in its ‘opinion,
the convictlion 1s proper, but the punishe
ment assessed 1s greater than under the
circumstances of the case ought teo be
inflicted, never contemplated that the
court should have power to reduce it be~
low the minimum. The judgment of the
court"is therefors lllegal and unauthore
1zged,
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All of the above cases, without dissension, hold
that even where a jury brings in a verdict assessing a pun~
ishment by imprisonment or by fine less than the minimum
set out in the statutes, it 1s mandatory upon the court
to essessa larger sentence of Imprisomment or larger fine
to the amount of the minimum set out in the penal statute.
Parsgraph (d) of Section 8404, supra, sets out "any per-
son who violates any of the other provisions of this
artlicle shall * = " The punishment set out in paragreph
{d) 1s mandatory. The word "shall", when used in its
ordinaery meaning, 1s mendatory. In the ecase of State ex
inf, McKittrlck, Attorney General, v, Wymors, Prosscuting
Attorney, 119 8. W. (2d) 941, pars, 7-10, sald:

"It 1s the general rule that in statutes
the word 'may! 1s permissive only, and
the word 'shall’ is mandatory."

Since a jJury cannot bring in a verdict assessing a
punishment less than the minlmum set out for the punishment
in any case and it has been held by many cases and under
the atatute that 1t 18 mandatory upon the court to assess
the proper minimum sentence, 1t goes without saying thet
the minimum punishment cannot be changed upon a recommendastion
made by a prasecuting attorney.

In your request you mention the fact that Paragreph
(d) of Section 8404, supra, provides for a sentence in the
county jail for a term not exceeding itwo years, This 1s =z
very extraordinary sentence 1n the county Jall and was probably
caused by a mistake in drawing the original bill, but since
it is the law, 1t must be 80 read. It 1s the only section
that we know of that provides for a punishment which limits
a sentence to two years in the county jall. You merely men-
tion the above, but as 1t is not necessary for en opinion as
to the penalty of not less than Five Dollars ({5.00), yet
we call your attention to Sectlon 4852, R. S. Missouri 1939,
which reads as follows:

"Whenever any offender is declared by.
law punishable upon conviction by ime
-prisomment in the penitentlary, or by
imprisonment in a county jall; or by fine,
or by both such fine and imprisonment;
and no limit is fixed by lew to the dur-
ation of Imprisomment in the jail or to
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the fine in such ecases, the convict
shall, in no instance, be sentenced
to a longer term of imprisonment in
the county Jjall than twelve months,
nor shall the fine in any sucl ease
exceed one thousand dollars."

It 1s very noticeable under the above section that
1t atates "and no 1imit 1s fixed by law to the duration of
imprisorment in the Jall or to the fine in such cases, # "
The convict shall not be sentenced to & longer term of Im-
prisomment In the county jall than twelve months. This
section 1s not sepplicable to the specilal punishment sectlon
of paragraph (d), Section 8404, supra, for the reason that
paragraph (d) specifiecally sets out that the imprisonment
in the county Jjall shall not exceed two yeara.

CONCLUSION |
It 1s our opinion that Section 8383, R. S. Missouri

1939, is the proper sectlion to be invoked on cases of traf-

fle vioclations on the highway, such as cereless driving.

It 1s further the opinion of thils department that
paragraph (d) of Section 8404, supra, 18 the only section
that provides a punishment for the glolation of Seection
8383 a8 to careless driving. g '

- It 18 further thé opinion of this department that
a jury, Judge or prosecuting attorney cannot assess or
recommend & fine of lsss than Five Dollars (535.00) for
caereless driving, the punishment for which is set out in
Section 8404, paragraph (d), Artiele 1, Chapter 45, R, S.
Missouri 1939.

Reapectfully submlitted

APPROVED:
. We J. BURKT
Assistant Attorney General
VAN: G, THURLO

(Acting) Attorney General
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