CRIMINAL CCSTL. State Highway Patrolmen are entitled
to witness fees when the trial 1s held
more than five miles from their place

Hone Forrest
State Auditor
Jefferason Cit

Dear Sirs

of residence andare entitled to the
same fees for the transportation of
prisoner as allowed the sheriff or
any other officer.

February 10, 1939

Smith

¥, Missouril

We are in recelpt of your request for an opin-

ion, under date of February 8th, 1939, which reads as

follows: .

Sectl
page 235, sta

"We are in receipt of a Cost bill
from Clinton County in the case,
State vs. Pope, in which a number

of Highway Patrolmen were used as
witnesses and charged mileage and
their witness fees from Jefferson
City. This fellow, Pope was charged
with robbing a bank which had nothing
at all to do with enforecing the high-
ways.

"I am enclosing a letter from the
Deputy Circult Clerk of Clinton
County showing the comment of Judge
Bridgman, Circuit Judge question~
ing the right of fiighway Patrolmen
to charge mileage and witness fees
in testifying as state witnesses.

"I would like an opinion from your
department as to whether Hi hway
Patrolmen can legally charge wit-
ness fees and mileage in criminal
cases."”

on 13,5ession Laws of Missouri, 1931,
tes as follows:
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# # "The members of the patrol
shall have the powers now or hereafter
vested by law 1n peace officers except
the serving or executlon of civil process.
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Section 11, Sesslon Laws of llssouri, 1931,
page 234, states as follows:

# # "All fees for the arrest and
trangportation of persons arrested and
witnesses' fees for members of the patrol
shall be the same as provided by law for
sheriffs and shall be taxed and collected
as costs and pald into the state treasury
as provided by law, « * #" '

The "ees allowed the sherlfi are set out in
sections 11791-2,Re S« Missouri, 1920, and are too
lengthy to set out in this opinion.

State Il hway Patrolmen, when acting as wit-
nesses, only are allowed the same fee as a witness.

Section 11798, Re. 5. MKissourl, 1929, reads
as follows:

"Witnesses shall be allowed fees for
their services as follows: For attending
any court of record, reference, arbltrat-
ors, commissioner, clerk or coroner, at any
inquest or inquiry of damages, within the
county where the witness resides, each day,
$1.50. For like attendance out of the county
where wltness resides, each day, $2.,00. l'or
traveling each mile in going to and return-
ing from the place of trial, .05."

Sectlon 3837 Re S. Missouri, 1929, which
prohiblts an officer, appointee or employee holding
a state, county, township or municipal office, in-
cluding police officers and policemen, from claim-
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fees in criminal cases, 1ls also governed by the pro=-
vision that reads as follows:

# # #"Provided, that the pro=-
visions of thils section shall not apply
to any officer who is a witness in any
case where the residence of such officer
is five miles from the placé where the
trial or coroner's inquest 1s held, or
where the grand jury is in session: #"

By this provision which covers state officers, which
would be a highway patrolman, the provision of this
section wo 1ld not apply where tne officer is a wit-

ness in any case where the residence of such officer

is five miles from the place of the trial. Thils section
should be construed that mileage in the case of police
officers should be computed from the nlace of residence
to the place of trial and return to the place .of
resldence.

It will be also noticed that under section
11, Session Laws of 1931, peage 234, that the necessary
expenses of the members of the patrol in the perform-
ance of their duties shall pe paid by the state when
such members arc away from their places of residence
or from the district to which they are assigned, sub=-
ject to the approval of the Commissione.

In reading the two sections together, that
is section 11, Session Laws of Hissouri, 1931, page
234, and section 3837 Re S. Missouri, 19209, the patrol
officers should only be allowed mileage in the case
from their place of reeidence to the place of trial
12d thelr return and not from any other place in the
state.

The duties of the Prosecuting Attorney, and
the Jud e of the trial court in certifying a fee bill
ls set out in section 3844, R. 3. Missouri, 19829,
which reads as follows:
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"then a fee bill shall be certi-
fied to the state auditor for payment,
the certificate of the judge and prose-
cuting attorney shall contain a state-
ment of the following facts: That
they have strictly examined the blll of
costsj that the defendant was convicted
or acquitted, and 1f conviected, the nature
and extent of punishment assessed, or the
cause continued generally, as the case
may bej that the offense charged is a
capital one, or punishable solely by ilme.
prisonment in the penitentiary, as the
case may bej that the services were ren~
dered for which charges are made, and
that the fees charged arc expressly asutho=-
rized by law, and that they are properly
taxed against the proper party, and that
the fees of no more than three witnesses
to prove any one fact are allowed. In
cases in whlch the defendant 1s convicted,
the Jjudge and prosecuting attorney shall
certify, in addition to the foregoing
fects, that the defendant 1ls insolvent,
and that no costs charged in the fee bill,
fees for board exceprted, were incurred
on the part of the defendant.™

In that section it will be noticed the certificate of
the judge and prosecuting attorney shall contaln a
statement showing that the fees charged are express-
ly authorized by law, and that the fees of no more than
three witnesses to prove any one fact are allowed, It
is discretionary with the Judge of the trial court to
limit the payment of the costs of more than three
witnesses to prove any fact, but more than three
witnesses may be used in the proving of any one fact
but only the witness fees of three witnesses should be
allowed as costs in the fee blll for the proving of
any one facte.



-

Hon. Forrest Smith -5 2/10/39

It was so held in the case of State vs. Mahan,
267 S. We. 866, 1. c. 867, where the court said:

"It is claimed the court erred in
refusing to allow the defendant to introduce
more than three witnesses as to the reputa-
tion of Melton for being a dangerous charac-
ter. It is true the court has no right to
limit the number of witnesses which the def-
endant may summon in his behalf. State ex
"1’ v. Gid.on' 119 "o. 9" 2‘ SI w. 748.
41 Am, St. Rep. 634. Seection 4193, R. 'S,
1919, does not limit the number of wltnesses
which may be produced in proof of any spe~
ecific facts, but simply limits the assess~
ment of costs in such case."

CONCLUSION

In view of the above authorities, and especially
the Highway Patrol Agt, which states that the"members of
the patrol shall have the powers now or hereafter vested
by law in peace officers, except the serving or exe-
cution of civil process"; and, also, since the High-
way Patrol 4Act states, "all fees for the arrest and
transportation of persons arrested and witness fees for
members of the patrol, shall be the same as provided
by law for sheriffs and shall be taxed and collected
as costs and pald into the state treasury as provided
by law", the State Highway Patrol would be entitled
to the same fee as the sheriff while acting as an
officer and also the same fees as a wltness.

It is further the opinion of this department
that mileage should only be computed by the State Highway
Patrol as a peace officer, from the place of apprehension
of the defendant without a warrant to the place of trial,
and if the State Highway Patrol is acting merely as wit-
nesses they are only entitled to wmlleage from the place of
residence of the witness to the place of trial
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and return to the place of residence,where tue trial
is held more than five mlles from the place of resi-
dence, and regular witness fees.

Respectfully submitted,

We Jo BURKE
Assistant Attorney General

APPROVED:

J+ Ws BUFFINGTON
(Aeting) Avvorusy General

WJIB:RW



