
CHIROPRACTIC: Four members can issue license. Biennial 
aucceas~ve renewals or l~cense with atten­
dant fee is compulsory and without excep­
tion. 

March 27, 1939 . 

Honorable T. c. Oyler, Secretary 
State Board of Chiropractic Examiners 
Frances Building 
Brookfield, Missouri 

Dear Mr. Oyler: 

FILED 68 

We acknowledge your request for an opinion dated 
March 13, 1939, which reads as follows: 

"The law provides that when an appli­
cant files for the examination he 
deposit $15.00 and then at a later 
date, if he is successful in the 
examination, he is required to send 
another $10 .00 forthwith the license 
is issued. At the present time the~e 
are only four members on the board 
as Dr. Fontana has been removed. I 
have received the final payment from 
an applicant who recently took the 
examination. Would it be legal for 
the four members now acting to sign 
the license, leaving the space for 
the fifth member vacant? 

"Also the law requires that license 
be renewed every two years. I have 
a letter from Dr. W. N. Cade who was 
issued a license in June of 1936 
and removed from the state. He now 
returns to the state to renew his 
license. Shall he pay both the 1936 
renewal and the 1938 renewal fee? 

"At out meeting of the board on Febru­
ary 27, we agreed to admit him back 
to the state." 
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Section 13548 R. s. Mo. 1929, relating to the organi­
zation and powers of the State Board of Chiropractic Ex­
aminers, provides, in part: 

11* * * Four members shall constitute 
a quorum. * * *" 

At no place in the law regulating issuing a chiroprac­
tic license does it specifically require the signature of 
five members to authenticate a license to practice chiro­
practic . 

Four members of the chiropractic board constitute a 
quorum to do business, and part of the statutory business 
of said board is to issue licenses . It follows that when 
four members sign a license, the licensee is duly licensed 
by the board, the fifth signature being surplusage. 

Section 13552 R. s. Mo. 1929 provides for renewal 
licenses, as follows: 

" * * * All persons practicing chiro­
practic in this state shall pay on or 
before September 1st of each even-number­
ed year after a license is issued to 
them as herein provided, to said state 
board of chiropractic examiners, a re­
newal license fee of $10.00, and no per­
son shall practice chiropractic after 
September 1st of the even-numbered years 
following the issuance of such license, 
without such renewal . The secretary 
of the board shall on or before August 
1st, of each even-numbered year, mail 
to all chiropractors in the state a 
notice that the renewal fee shall be 
due on or before the 1st day of Septem­
ber following such notice . Nothing in 
this chapter shall be construed so as 
to require that the renewal receipt 
shall be recorded as the original 
licenses are required to be recorded. 
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Each practitioner of chiropractic shall 
display in his office in a conspicuous 
place his renewal license toaether with 
his license showing that he is lawfully 
entitled to practice chiropractic . 11 

The language of the above statute is clear and un­
ambiguous. In Missouri, renewal of a chiropractic license, 
with the $10 .00 renewal fee, is biennial and compulsory. 
Successive biennial renewals, with the attendant statutory 
fee, is a condition precedent to the lawful practice of 
chiropractic by any person. Dr. Cade must pay both the 
1936 and 1938 biennial renewal fees in order to be in good 
standing with Missouri . 

APPROVED: 

w. J. BURKE 
(Acting ) Attorney-General 

WOS :LB 

Respectfully submitted, 

WILLIAM ORR SAWYERS 
Assistant Attorney General 


