OHERITANCE TAXS

I.

exemption of $500,00 exzch.

February 15, 1937,

e 8 O

FILED

Probate Court not entitled to Appraiser's fee .
Il. Nephews of an intest:ate decedent entitled to '

Honorable kK. L. Colton,
Probate Judge of iright County,
Hartville, Missouri.

Dear Sir:

This department is in receipt of your lettier of

February 1lO0th, requesting an opinion as to the following:

"There are two questions relative to the
Missouri Inheritance Tax Laws about which I am having
diffioulty in establishing a fixed opinion in my
mind, end am therefore writing this esking for your
assistance in the matter.

Under Section 585 of the Revised Statutes
for 1929, which suthorizes a Irobate Judge to
appraise an estate for the purpose of determining
the amount of tax due, by performing the same
duties required of an appraiser, cen he also
legally charge the per diem fee allowed an apprai-
ser for such services?

My other problem can best be stated by an
hypothetical case. If an intestate decedent
leaves as his only heirs three brothers, and two
nephews, the two nephews being sons of a fourth
brother, who is deceused, are e:ch of the two
nephews entitled to $500.,00 exemptions, or should
their combined exemptions be $500.007

Trusting thut you can straighten me out oun
there points, without too muech trouble to your=-
selves, I am, "
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I.
THE PROBAT: COURT NOT ENTITLED TO APPRAISER'S FLE.

Section 585, R. S. Miss uri 1929 provides thut the
Probate Court shall have jurisdiction to determine the amount
of tax provided under the inheritance tax law and to determine
sny question thut may arise in oonnection there:ith. It further
provides thnt the vourt may, on its own motion or on the applica-
tion of eny interested person, including the State Treasurer, the
Frosecuting Attorney or the Attorney General, appoint some qualified
tax-paying oitizen of the county as appraiser. If an appraiser be
appointed under this Seetion he is entitled to $5.00 per day for
the tine he is actually engaged in the performance of his duties.
Section 589 R. S. Missouri 1929. The question here before us
is es to whether the Probate Court, acting as appreiser under
Section 585, ¢an colleot this fee. Ve think not and for the
following reasons:

In the first place, we do not believe that it wus the
inter .ion of the Legislature in enacting this law that the robaete
Court should be entitled to a per diem as appraiser. Jor instance,
it is provided in seotion 585 that the appraiser shall file with
the court en oath, and, further, shall file a notice 1@ oouEt
aﬁgg;ggiﬁﬁb of the time and place for hearing the evidence.

ction % is provided that he shall meke a report of his
apprataemen{ to jg;igg%g%, in writing. Section 587 provides that
exceptions may be ed %o this report and such exceptions determined
by the Court in 2 summery menner. These and othcr sections clearly
show thut 1t was the intention of the lLegislature that the Court
and the appraiser appointed by the Court are to be separate and
distinot offices.

In addition to the above, it is a prinociple too familiar
to need citation that a publie officer seeking a fee must be able
to point to a stutute granting to him the fee in gquestion. In the
ouse here at hand the 35,00 per diem is grunted by statute to the
appraiser, a qualified tax-paying eitizen of the county, appointed
the C t It is against the polieoy of the law for an officer
o use his appointing power to place himself in office. "Other
re sons might be given, but it is sufficient 1o say, and we so
hold, that it is against the poliocy of the law to ailou 8 member
of an appointing body in & o=se like this where the appantive office is
a luerative one to become the beneficiary of the appointment". sStatle
v. Bowman, 184 Mo, Appe. 5‘9. l. o, 5858,
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1I.
NEPHEWS OF AN INTEST .TX DECEDINT LNTITLED TO EXEMPTION
OF $500,00 BACH,

Section 575 R. S. Missouri 1929 grants an exemption of
$500.00 to esch of the persons deseribed in the second subdivision
of Seotion 072, The second subdivieion of Seection 5728 provides:

"{here the person or persons to whom such property
or any beneficial interest therein passes shall be the
brother or sister, or the descendant of & bhrother or
sister of the decedent, the wife or widow of a son, or
the husbund of a daughter of the decedent, at the rate
of three per centum of the clear markot value of such
property or interest therein.”

In view of this Seetion, the two nephews ii the case at
hend are entitled to an exemption of 500,00 e:eh.

Respectfully submitted,
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