Crime Victims' Rights
page 4 of 6 pdf
Crime Victims' Compensation Fund
The state of Missouri has a fund to reimburse some crime victims for certain financial losses. You may be eligible for benefits if:
- You are a victim of violent crime and suffered personal bodily injury;
- You are a relative who requires counseling to better assist a sexual assault victim with recovery;
- You are a spouse, child or other dependent of a victim who has died as a direct result of a crime, or you assumed financial obligations incurred as a result of the victim's death; or
- You are a Missouri resident who suffered personal injury in a state that does not have a crime victims' compensation program and the injury would be covered if the crime had occurred in Missouri.
To be eligible, you must have:
- Reported the incident within 48 hours to the proper law enforcement agency or had a good reason for delay;
- Filed the compensation claim within two years of the crime or discovery of the crime; and
- Incurred medical expenses and lost time from work, or incurred no medical bills but lost at least two weeks' wages. The rate of compensation is $40 a day or $200 a week.
Depending on the case, victims' compensation may be available for medical care, psychiatric treatment or other counseling, funeral expenses and wage loss reimbursement for the victim. Total recovery may not exceed $25,000.
FILING FOR CLAIMS
To get a claim application or more information, please contact:
Crime Victims' Compensation Program
P.O. Box 1589
Jefferson City, MO 65102