Skip to page content Skip to site navigation
Home :: Consumer Protection :: Business Registrations
AG Chris Koster | FAQs
Missouri Attorney General

Going-out-of-business sales

Businesses must register going-out-of-business sales

Businesses conducting going-out-of-business sales must register the sale with the Attorney General's Office at least 10 days before it begins. This state law — Section 407.800 — also applies to any advertising using language that indicates a store is closing, such as "liquidation sale." The registration must include a list of inventory to be sold. Inventory may not be added after the sale begins.

Sale Registration

  • Businesses conducting going-out-of-business sales must register the sale with the Attorney General's Office at least 10 days before it begins. The registration affidavit is available below.
  • The registration must include a list of inventory to be sold.
  • Inventory may not be added after the sale begins.
  • Going-out-of-business sales should last no more than 60 days. If a sale must exceed that length, an extension affidavit must be filed and is available below.
  • All registration and renewal statements must be signed by hand and notarized.
  • Forms are in PDF format Indicates a PDF file and can be filled out on your computer using Adobe Acrobat, printed and mailed. Or you can print them and then type or legibly fill them by hand and mail.

Instructions and Forms

 
State homepage   |    Missouri statutes   |    Forms   |    Site Map   |    Accessibility   |    Privacy Policy   |    Contact Us  Follow AGO on Twitter!  RSS Feed  RSS Feed