Skip to page content Skip to site navigation
Home :: Open Government :: News :: 2011 :: November
AG Chris Koster | FAQs
Missouri Attorney General


Browse by month and year

Search by keyword(s)

Attorney General's News Release

November 21, 2011

Attorney General Koster honors second annual Justice Award winners

Jefferson City, Mo. – Attorney General Chris Koster today presented awards to the winners of the second annual Attorney General’s Justice Awards. Koster established the awards program last year to recognize individuals and organizations for demonstrating an extraordinary commitment to justice.

“As the attorneys and the staff in the Attorney General’s Office proudly stand up for the people of Missouri, our ability to achieve justice is enhanced by our partnership with individuals, agencies, and organizations exemplified by those we honor today,” Koster said. “We received many excellent nominations, and our final decisions were difficult; but as evident in their nominations, these individuals and organizations more than deserving of recognition for making a significant contribution to further justice.”

Koster said the justice awards encompass six separate categories – consumer and senior protection; environmental protection; crime prevention; law enforcement; preventing crimes against children; and, domestic violation prevention. He said that the response was overwhelming when he contacted consumer groups, crime prevention groups, environmental groups, domestic violence agencies, and law enforcement agencies earlier this year and asked for nominations. The winners in each of the categories are:

Consumer and Senior Protection: Kathy Ray Smith for her outstanding dedication and service to the protection of Missouri’s seniors through advocacy, mediation services, and educational programs.

Environmental Protection: The Confluence Trash Bash, a joint effort by government agencies, not-for-profit organizations, corporations, schools and civic groups to clean-up rivers and foster stewardship.

Crime Prevention: Calvin Neal for a lifetime dedicated to the prevention of crime through advocacy, mentoring, education and training.

Law Enforcement: Boone County Sheriff’s Department for its traffic enforcement team approach to enforcing Missouri’s driving laws which resulted in over 450 DWI arrests in 2010.

Law Enforcement: Officer Daryl Hall, St. Louis Metropolitan Police Department, who gave his life protecting others from a gunman while off-duty.

Preventing Crimes Against Children: Metropolitan Organization to Counter Sexual Assault “Project Aware,” a child sexual abuse prevention program that reaches children in preschool through fifth grade.

Domestic Violence Prevention: Jefferson County, Missouri Domestic Violence Enhanced Response Team, for its coordinated and efficient response to domestic violence.

Domestic Violence Prevention: Colleen Coble, chief executive officer of the Missouri Coalition of Domestic and Sexual Abuse for the 30-year commitment to justice through her tremendous accomplishments in the area of domestic violence prevention.

State homepage   |    Missouri statutes   |    Forms   |    Site Map   |    Accessibility   |    Privacy Policy   |    Contact Us  Follow AGO on Twitter!  RSS Feed  RSS Feed