Skip to page content Skip to site navigation
Home :: Open Government :: News :: 2010 :: January
AG Chris Koster | FAQs
Missouri Attorney General

News

Browse by month and year

Search by keyword(s)

Attorney General's News Release

January 12, 2010

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services ranks Missouri Medicaid Fraud Unit number one in nation for 2008

Jefferson City, Mo.-Attorney General Chris Koster said today that Missouri has earned the distinction of obtaining more Medicaid fraud money per grant dollar spent than any other state in the nation. According to national data from the federal Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), the Attorney General's Medicaid Fraud Control Unit obtained $18.81 for every federal dollar received in federal fiscal year 2008.

"Efficiency of government is critical, particularly during these challenging economic times," Koster said. "Missouri's Medicaid Fraud Unit has used all tools available to aggressively investigate and prosecute Medicaid fraud, and return those stolen health care dollars to Missouri."

The Attorney General's Medicaid Fraud Control Unit received a grant of $1,582,000 from HHS in federal fiscal year 2008, and used that funding to recover $29,753,505, for the return rate of $18.81 per grant dollar and the number one ranking nationally.

Koster said to increase the program's effectiveness, the unit reaches out to state agencies that oversee Medicaid programs; hospitals and other large health providers; and other states to obtain leads on possible Medicaid fraud. The Attorney General's office also encourages the public to report suspected Medicaid fraud by calling its hotline at 800-286-3932.

Below is the ranking of recovery rates per federal grant dollar spent:

RANK, STATE, PER GRANT DOLLAR  

  1.   Missouri $18.81
  2.   North Carolina $18.38
  3.   Tennessee $17.13
  4.   West Virginia $15.69
  5.   Ohio $15.38
  6.   Maine $14.73
  7.   South Carolina $14.25
  8.   Minnesota $13.67
  9.   Nebraska $11.36
  10.   Georgia $10.79
  11.   Texas $10.77
  12.   Kentucky $10.13
  13.   Kansas $ 9.21
  14.   Massachusetts $ 9.18
  15.   Indiana $ 8.92
  16.   Oklahoma $ 8.83
  17.   Washington $ 8.61
  18.   New Jersey $ 8.07
  19.   Vermont $ 8.02
  20.   New Hampshire $ 7.52
  21.   Oregon $ 7.34
  22.   Maryland $ 7.27
  23.   Pennsylvania $ 7.12
  24.   Louisiana $ 6.83
  25.   Florida $ 6.76
  26.   New York $ 6.65
  27.   Alabama $ 6.54
  28.   Virginia $ 6.04
  29.   Michigan $ 5.75
  30.   California $ 5.70
  31.   Illinois $ 5.55
  32.   South Dakota $ 5.51
  33.   Mississippi $ 5.17
  34.   Connecticut $ 4.80
  35.   Utah $ 4.56
  36.   Iowa $ 3.99
  37.   Wisconsin $ 3.91
  38.   District of Columbia $ 3.69
  39.   Colorado $ 3.66
  40.   Rhode Island $ 3.40
  41.   Arkansas $ 2.65
  42.   Nevada $ 2.15
  43.   Arizona $ 2.07
  44.   Wyoming $ 1.96
  45.   Hawaii $ 1.15
  46.   Alaska $ 1.02
  47.   New Mexico $ 1.00
  48.   Montana $ .92
  49.   Delaware $ .78
  50.   Idaho $ .06


 
State homepage   |    Missouri statutes   |    Forms   |    Site Map   |    Accessibility   |    Privacy Policy   |    Contact Us  Follow AGO on Twitter!  RSS Feed  RSS Feed