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Hang Up on Telemarketers

A Message from Attorney General Chris Koster

Often times, automated recordings have messages like “Press 1 for 
more information, or press 2 to be removed from our list”. Do not 
push any number; all this does is confirm to telemarketers that 
your line is a working number, and will only increase the number 
of annoying calls you receive. Instead, hang up the phone, write 
down the caller’s name and phone number that shows on caller-
ID, and report the violation to the Missouri Attorney General’s 
Office.

The Missouri Attorney General needs your help to prosecute 
illegal telemarketers. Report violations by:

•	 Completing an online form at: www.ago.mo.gov
•	 Calling toll free 866-BUZZ-OFF (866-289-9633)
•	 Emailing nocall@ago.mo.gov
•	 Mailing a complaint form to the No-Call Unit at  

P.O. Box 861, St. Louis, MO 63188

Effective Dates for Registrations

If you register a number on the Missouri Do-Not-Call list, your 
number becomes active on the following date:

If you register by:	 Your coverage begins:
February 1........................................April 1
May 1.................................................July 1
August 1............................................October 1
November 1......................................January 1

Thank you for registering your phone number with the Missouri No-Call program. 
By doing so, you have taken the first step in ending unwanted phone calls from 
nearly 200 telemarketers. 

Our No-Call Enforcement Unit continues to make strides in fighting unwanted 
telemarketing calls. Since 2009, the Attorney General’s Office has filed 81No-Call 
lawsuits against telemarketers. In 2015 alone, the Attorney General’s Office filed 17 
different legal actions and obtained more than $800,000 in fines and judgments 
against telemarketers that broke Missouri law, including a $575,000 settlement 
with Farmers Insurance, the largest amount ever paid by a telemarketer for 
Missouri No-Call and telemarketing violations. The No Call Enforcement Unit 
continues to escalate its enforcement efforts by filing lawsuits in federal court, where 
telemarketers face penalties of up to $16,000 per violation of the telemarketing laws. 
Although new technology brings about new enforcement challenges as telemarketers 
develop ways to conceal their identities, we continue to look for and encourage 
others to develop solutions to this ever-changing issue. You can help this fight 
by making sure your phone number and email address are up-to-date on the 
Do-Not-Call list by calling 1-866-662-2551 or emailing nocall@ago.mo.gov. 
Follow the tips provided in this newsletter and contact our office if you receive 
unwanted telemarketing solicitations. Together, we can fight back against intrusive 
telemarketing calls.

New FCC Rule

In June 2015, the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) 
clarified a rule authorizing phone companies to utilize call-
blocking technologies to better protect their customers from 
robocalls and scams. Attorney General Chris Koster and Indiana 
Attorney General Greg Zoeller immediately issued a letter, signed 
by 45 state Attorneys General, calling on major carriers to adopt 
technologies which allow consumers to block unwanted calls or 
texts. Contact your telephone service provider to determine 
what call-blocking technologies are available to you.  
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Frequently Asked Questions About Missouri’s Do-Not-Call Law

How do I get my name on the No-Call list? 
You may register by calling toll free 1-866-NOCALL1  
(1-866-662-2551); or submitting the registration form online at  
www.ago.mo.gov/app/NoCallRegistration.

What is the cost to get my name on the list? 
There is no cost to consumers to get on the list. There will be a 
cost to telemarketers to get copies of the list. 

Can I register my business or office telephone on  
the list? 
No. The law does not allow business phone numbers to be 
included on the No-Call list.

Do I need to register everyone in my household who 
does not want to be called by telemarketers? 
No. You only need to register once, making sure to include all of 
your home and cell phone numbers. Telemarketers covered by 
the law then cannot call those registered phone numbers — it 
does not matter whether there are two family members or six.

Is there an expiration date on my registration? 
No. If your phone number and address remain the same, then 
you do not need to re-register.

If my phone number changes, how can I remain on the 
No-Call list? 
You need to register again using your new phone number. Print, 
fill out and send in the form to change your address and phone 
number. Or you can call the No-Call Unit at 1-866-289-9633.

What are the penalties if a telemarketer calls me in 
violation of the law? 
A telemarketer who violates the law faces a civil penalty of up to 
$5,000 for each knowing violation.

When I register, how quickly will telemarketers put me 
on their no-call lists? 
The Attorney General’s Office will submit names every three 
months to allow telemarketers time to add names to their  
no-call lists.
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In April 2016, the Missouri Attorney General co-sponsored 
the third No-Call Law Enforcement Summit with the Indiana 
Attorney General. The two-day summit is a meeting for law 
enforcement officials and consumer protection investigators 
who are focused on the problem of harassing telemarketing 
and telephone scams. The summit brings together state and 
federal partners and consumer protection experts from across 
the country to share best practices, information on new 
technologies, and innovative law enforcement techniques to 
investigate illegal telemarketers and reduce unwanted calls. 
Summits like these empower federal and state agencies with the 
tools they need to vigorously pursue telemarketers and help  
stop the unwanted solicitation calls that consumers receive on  
a daily basis.

Beware of Scammers

The Missouri Attorney General’s Office is actively investigating 
complaints from Missouri consumers who report receiving calls 
from telemarketers claiming to be from the Internal Revenue 
Service (IRS) claiming that the consumer owes money, or from 
Cardholder Services offering to lower credit card interest rates, 
and attempting to obtain credit card or personal bank account 
information from consumers. These are scams! Never provide 
personal or financial information over the phone to an unknown 
caller. Keep in mind that the IRS will not call and demand 
immediate payment, or demand that you owe money  
on taxes without giving you the opportunity to question or 
appeal the amount they say you owe. Remember that no 
legitimate government agency will threaten to bring in local 
police or other law-enforcement groups to have you arrested  
for not paying. If you receive such a call, do not give the caller 
any of your personal information. Instead, please contact the  
No-Call Enforcement Unit by phone at at 866-BUZZ-OFF  
(866-289-9633), by email at nocall@ago.mo.gov, or online at  
www.ago.mo.gov/app/nocallcomplaint.  
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