Skip to page content Skip to site navigation
Home :: Consumer Protection
AG Chris Koster | FAQs
Missouri Attorney General

Cold Weather Rule

Utility customers should be aware of rights

Missouri residents who realize they may have problems paying their utility bills should take the first step of notifying the utility company about their situation. Several utility companies offer heating assistance programs.

Missouri residents who have been disconnected from natural gas or electrical services in violation of the Missouri Cold Weather Rule should contact the Office of the Attorney General at 1-800-392-8222.

The Missouri Cold Weather Rule:

  • Is in effect Nov. 1 through March 31.
  • Prohibits disconnection of service when the temperature is forecasted to drop below 32 degrees for the following 24-hour period.
  • Requires utilities to notify you by mail at least 10 days prior to date of the proposed disconnection.
  • Requires utilities to make further attempts to contact you within 96 hours prior to disconnection by either a second written notice, a door hanger or at least two telephone call attempts.
  • Requires utilities to notify you about possible financial help in paying your bills.
  • Prohibits disconnection of registered low-income elderly or disabled customers who make a minimum payment.
  • Allows you to budget your payments over 12 months.

For more details visit the Public Service Commission's Web site or e-mail the PSC.

In addition, if you believe you have been ripped off or charged excessive amounts to correct any safety issues relating to your electric heat, boiler or furnace by a repairman, contact the Attorney General's Consumer Protection Hotline at 1-800-392-8222.

Consumers who have made arrangements for a budget plan must have proof of payments on that plan, and believe they have been unfairly removed from that plan should also call 1-800-392-8222.

Reconnection provisions of the Cold Weather Rule

(Effective Nov. 1 through March 31)

If a utility company has disconnected your residential heating service due to nonpayment of a delinquent account, the company shall reconnect service without requiring a deposit if:

  • You contact the utility company and request that service be restored at your home and you state your inability to pay in full;
  • The utility company receives an initial payment and you enter into a payment agreement as required by the Cold Weather Rule;
  • You comply with the utility company's request for information about your monthly or annual income.
  • None of the amount owed from previous service is a result of unauthorized interference, diversion or use of the utility’s service, and you have not engaged in such activities since last receiving heat-related utility service; and
  • There is no other lawful reason for continued refusal to provide utility service.
Missouri Community Action Agencies offer heating assistance
Missouri Community Action Agencies provide help to low-income households in 19 regional offices located throughout the state:
Agency Counties served Phone

Heat-Up St. Louis service area and Greater St. Louis services area (not a Community Action Agency)

St. Louis City and the counties of St. Louis, St. Charles, Warren, Lincoln, Jefferson, Butler, Ste. Genevieve, Iron, Madison and Franklin


Central Missouri Counties' Human Development Corp.

Audrain, Boone, Callaway, Cole, Cooper, Howard, Moniteau, Osage


Community Action Agency of St. Louis County

St. Louis County


Community Action Partnership of Greater St. Joseph

Andrew, Buchanan, Clinton, DeKalb


Community Services Inc. of Northwest Missouri

Atchison, Gentry, Holt, Nodaway, Worth


Delta Area Economic Opportunity Corp.

Dunklin, Mississippi, New Madrid, Pemiscot, Scott, Stoddard


East Missouri Action Agency

Bollinger, Cape Girardeau, Iron, Madison, Perry, St. Francois, Ste. Genevieve, Washington


Economic Security Corp. of the Southwest Area

Barton, Jasper, McDonald, Newton


Green Hills Community Action Agency

Caldwell, Daviess, Grundy, Harrison, Linn, Livingston, Mercer, Putnam, Sullivan, Carroll, Ray


Human Development Corp. of Metropolitan St. Louis

City of St. Louis, Wellston


Jefferson-Franklin Community Action Corp.

Franklin, Jefferson


Missouri Ozarks Community Action

Camden, Crawford, Gasconade, Laclede, Maries, Miller, Phelps, Pulaski


Missouri Valley Community Action Agency

Carroll, Chariton, Johnson, Lafayette, Pettis, Ray, Saline


North East Community Action Corp.

Lewis, Lincoln, Macon, Marion, Monroe, Montgomery, Pike, Ralls, Randolph, Shelby, St. Charles, Warren


Northeast Missouri Community Action Agency

Adair, Clark, Knox, Scotland, Schuyler


Ozark Action Inc.

Douglas, Howell, Oregon, Ozark, Texas, Wright


Ozarks Area Community Action Corp.

Barry, Christian, Dade, Dallas, Greene, Lawrence, Polk, Stone, Taney, Webster


South Central Missouri Community Action Agency

Butler, Carter, Dent, Reynolds, Ripley, Shannon, Wayne


United Services Community Action Agency

Clay, Jackson, Platte


West Central Missouri Community Action Agency

Bates, Benton, Cass, Cedar, Henry, Hickory, Morgan, St. Clair, Vernon


State homepage   |    Missouri statutes   |    Forms   |    Site Map   |    Accessibility   |    Privacy Policy   |    Contact Us  Follow AGO on Twitter!  RSS Feed  RSS Feed